In the Memorandum of Understanding, the following network of institutions is foreseen to streamline and foster the development process on the SEETO Comprehensive Network:

The Annual Meeting of Ministers (AMM) is the highest political forum where the progress of the SEETO Comprehensive Network in respect to the MoU is confirmed, SEETO Comprehensive Network’s Multi-Annual Plan is accepted and future strategies are agreed upon. It is attended by the Ministers of Transport of each of the Regional Participants and by the European Commission.

The Steering Committee (SC) ensures co-ordination of the joint work of Signatories of the Memorandum of Understanding. It is composed by one representative and one deputy representative of each Participant at Junior Ministers or senior civil servants’ level. It is co-chaired by a Chairman from the South East Europe region and the European Commission. The Steering Committee is main responsible structure for guiding SEETO’s activities and coordinating the transport infrastructure planning, as well as promoting and conducting national reforms in line with the agreed EU and regional driven approach.

The SEETO Secretariat provides technical support to the Steering Committee and facilitates the coordination of the Regional Participants, EC and IFI’s. It also liaises with other actors directly involved in the implementation of the MoU, such as Working Groups and National Co-ordinators, and with International Financial Institutions, regional bodies and Donors active in the region. SEETO Secretariat analyses the performance of the SEETO Comprehensive Network, registering the progress made in the achievement of the MoU’s provisions, is responsible for producing and updating the SEETO Comprehensive Network’s Multi-Annual Plan and assists the SC in promoting policy reforms and harmonisation in the transport sector.

National Co-ordinators (NC) are appointed by each Regional Participant with the role to act as technical support to SEETO cooperation and as interface between the respective Regional Participant and the SEETO Secretariat.

Working Groups (WG) are formed by experts delegated by the respectable national authorities; they include representatives of each Regional Participant and of the European Commission, (DG MOVE) and they report to the Steering Committee. A Working Group on Railways and Inter-modality is established in 2006 and Road Safety Working Group is established by the SC in 2009. They Apart from best practice exchange, Working Groups contribute to promotion of harmonization in transport sector and monitor implementation of soft measures.