The 8th Meeting of the Road Safety Working Group of SEETO

5 April 2017 – The 8th Meeting of the Road Safety Working Group of SEETO took place in Podgorica and was hosted by the Ministry of Transport and Maritime Affairs of Montenegro during 3-4 April 2017.

The meeting was opened by the Chairman Mr. Said Dahdah, Senior Transport Specialist, World Bank Group followed by a welcome to all meeting participants by Ms. Liljana Cela, SEETO Information Resources Manager.

One of the meeting highlights was the address of the European Commission representative Ms Maria Teresa Sanz Villegas, Policy Officer from DG MOVE Unit for Road Safety, who gave an update on the Valletta Declaration. Transport ministers of the Member States of the European Union, met in Valletta on 29 March 2017 under the Maltese Presidency of the Council of the European Union and reconfirmed their commitment to improving road safety. At a round table held with the Ministers from Western Balkans it was acknowledged that Ministries of Transport and Ministries of Interior must establish a Road Safety Agency which will coordinate the work in the area of road safety from both sides.

ConnecTA and SAFEGE consultants, road safety experts (EC technical assistance) presented their findings resulting from regional visits – ConnecTA in terms of road safety inspection and road safety auditing and SAFEGE through the study funded by the EC Technical Assistance in support of the Strategic Working Programme of SEETO 2015-2017, “Monitoring of the road safety strategies in SEETO members and drafting of a regional short term action plan”.  SEETO RSWG members played an important role as the main contact points in organizing the meetings, coordinating the work and providing the information required from consultants through SEETO Secretariat.

The second day of the meeting was dedicated to providing regional participants, members of the road safety working group with a closed session to discuss deliverables and action plan of RSWG for the year 2017.